Uncategorized

Practicing Humility on your Blog

humble

The Lord has recently convicted me of writing a post on humility. Humility is something that I struggled with sometimes, such as giving myself the credit and not realizing that everything is God’s work, his will, and he allowed it to happen. If he didn’t help me, I wouldn’t be able to do anything! So I would like to share with you some tips that I’ve thought of or been given on staying humble! : ) (Especially on your blog.)

I have heard of some people who believe that if you have a blog with just a bunch of pictures of yourself wearing cute outfits and posing, you must be really vain and prideful. That isn’t why I blog though! My desire is to make God come across good, not myself come across good. How can clothes be a witness, you might ask. The purpose of my blog is to share my convictions on modesty and dressing in a way that honors God. Not making myself look good. With that being said, I have to remember that this blog is for God’s glory, not my own. Therefore it doesn’t matter if I think I “look bad” in the pictures.

That is something that I struggled with though. Several months back, about September through the beginning of December, I had posted no pictures of myself. I was convinced that I looked terrible in all of the pictures that were taken. (Sorry, Maddy!) I had taken my focus off of being a witness on modesty, and it was put it on whether I thought I looked pretty in the pictures.

I realized that “looking good” wasn’t the purpose. I again decided to post outfit pictures, because that is what I felt called to do in the first place. With the new focus in mind, I wasn’t near as critical of myself. Yes, I am still learning, but progressing. : )

If your blog is truly for the glory of God, things like followers and comments and recognition won’t matter anymore. If the Lord wills for you to get 5 views or 5,000 views, he will arrange it to be so. He has it taken care of! ; )

Here are some things that I’ve found helpful on focusing on humility:

Realizing that God had allowed you to have a blog, and you should be grateful. : )

It is for God’s glory, not my own.

Everything that happens God has allowed it to happen.

Taking the focus off of yourself, and giving it to God.

* * *

Something else that I strive not to do is push others to look at my blog. : ) I will tell girls about it or give them a link, but I prefer to not say, “I’d love for you to come visit my blog and follow.” I don’t want to appear to be too forward or pushy. Especially asking others to comment, follow, or ask about doing a guest post or interview is something I try not to do. : )

I appreciate everyone who read this post!

16 thoughts on “Practicing Humility on your Blog

  1. This is a great post Melani! By the way, I’ve noticed this and and meant to comment earlier: I noticed that at the end of a lot of your posts you say “Thank you” to your readers. That always struck me as a humble way to end your blog posts. I don’t know, just something I noticed about your blog. 🙂
    Naomi

    Like

    1. It is comforting, knowing that you can rest in Jesus. : ) It’s something I need to remind myself of sometimes! Thanks for taking the time to comment.

      Like

  2. Great thought! Especially for someone like me who is just starting in the blogging world. I’ve been finding myself looking at the totals from the day before. Being worried about FB followers and so on. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. I sometimes find myself doing that as well. I have to work on it! What is your blog address? I would love to see your blog. : ) I’m a beginner as well. I started in about August. : ) Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  3. Thanks so much for sharing this, Melani! I completely agree that it is so easy to bet pulled into vanity issues with our blogs whether it be looking good or finding too much of our value in our stats. I don’t like to ask people to follow either 🙂 but I do love connecting with people so a lot of times I will leave my site’s address behind just because I’d love to continue the conversation with other wonderful bloggers. I struggle that that might be interpreted wrongly, but I do it since I believe strongly in community 🙂 I love passing the encouragement around! Great to connect with you and great thoughts!
    -Sara, uncommongrace.net (and please, no pressure ;)! Just enjoyed your site!)

    Like

  4. My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find nearly all of your post’s to be just
    what I’m looking for. can you offer guest writers to write content in your case?
    I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating
    on many of the subjects you write concerning here.
    Again, awesome blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

