Creighton Hill Cover Reveal

Hello girls! Today I am very excited to be sharing the cover reveal of my friend Morgan’s latest book, Creighton Hill!

Creighton Hill Cover Front“No one can mysteriously disappear leaving no trace. It isn’t realistic.”

“You’re right, Emily,” her grandfather said thoughtfully. “It isn’t realistic. However, a good many things happen in this world that are not realistic, things supernatural.”

Emily, Allan, Jill, Joey, and Anna have grown up on their grandfather’s tales of ancestors who mysteriously disappeared from Creighton Hill, the plantation home that has been in their family for centuries. When Grampa’s death forces them to move into Creighton Hill, the truth about the supposed disappearances is the first thing on their minds. Allan, Jill, Joey, and Anna’s, that is. As for Emily, why must they keep at their supernatural hogwash?

Could it be that their family really does just have an unusual history of early deaths? Most people seem to think so. But Grampa’s research has uncovered something different.

When mysterious writing matching descriptions found in ancient accounts begins appearing to the children, they know something’s up. They must find out what really happened to their ancestors, and work together to discover the reason behind the mysterious writings.

Creighton Hill is the first book of the Time Captives trilogy, a tale of faith, family, fantasy, and a fight for truth and freedom.

Expected publication: June 8th 2015
Morgan cropped blurred backgroundMorgan Elizabeth Huneke is a homeschool graduate who lives in Georgia. She has enjoyed creating characters and writing stories since early childhood. Her other interests include reading, playing the piano and violin, and politics. She is the author of Across the Stars and The Experiment.
goodreads

As for inspirations, do your stories come from experiences you’ve had, stories you’ve heard, or you just come up with them through imagination and creativity? : ) 

I get inspiration from a crazy number of places.  I get a lot of story inspiration from dreams.  Books, movies, and TV shows spark ideas or parts of ideas, some things come from personal experience, and some things are inspired by history.  A (still rather underdeveloped but I love it) work in progress came largely from Pinterest and a Lab Rats marathon.  Time Captives has a lot of inspiration from other books, most specifically Narnia, Tuck Everlasting, and Return to Gone-Away.  I do get ideas simply from my imagination, too, mostly when I’m riding my bike.  I guess there’s something about exercise and fresh air that gets my brain working.

Do your characters remind you of people you know?

Some of them do. Abby Raingold in The Experiment was closely based on my youngest sister, and many of the supporting characters were inspired by friends. I tend to put a lot of myself into girl protagonists, though they still turn out somewhat different from me. A few weeks ago, I was trying to compare Joey Hubbard from Time Captives to boys I know of the same age, so I could get a better idea of what the circumstances he was in would be like. The only boy of the right age I thought of is a boy from church, but I quickly realized that he was more like Allan and his little brother was a lot like Joey. I created the characters before meeting them, though, so that wasn’t on purpose. 🙂

For the rest of the blogs who are hosting the Creighton Hill cover reveal, click here.

3 thoughts on “Creighton Hill Cover Reveal”

Leave a Reply

