Uncategorized

Modesty Does Not Equal Old-fashioned

pioclo.jpg

       Even though it was a small incident that happened about 6 years ago, I can still remember it to this day. Until I was about 10 years old, my family dressed about the same as anybody else you would see out and about. I wore shorts, pants, tank tops, short skirts. I didn’t think a thing about it, and neither did my mom or sisters. It was just normal.
When my mom began dressing more conservatively, she also encouraged her daughters to do the same. Honestly, I was only 10 years old and quite a girly girl, so the thought of wearing skirts and dresses all the time didn’t bother me a bit. ; ) After maybe six months of changing our dress, I somehow got the idea that modesty = old-fashioned. Now I don’t even think my clothes were any different style-wise than before. ; ) I began noticing what other girl’s styles were, especially whether they were modest or not, and trying to decide what mine was. It took me a while to realize that dressing modestly doesn’t mean dressing unfashionably and there are a lot of different styles of modest dress.
Everyone has different styles of what they like. I was the girl who liked sequins and big earrings and bright shirts! Honestly, I laugh now at the different clothes I thought were so cool as an 8 year-old. Now I see pictures and can’t help shaking my head and laughing! Anyway, I basically thought that dressing modestly wasn’t modern or stylish. Don’t get me wrong, I liked wearing skirts and dresses. I just thought I had given up on the whole fashion thing that wrapped my world. I didn’t mind, though. Dressing for the Lord was more important, and honestly, I’m really glad that this is a lesson that I went through. Because I think God knew that I needed to get my focus off of style and fashion and clothes and get it on to Him. ; )
One normal day at home, (this is the incident that I still remember to this day) my mom came into the room with her phone in hand. She was watching a video of a company that sells modest clothing, and they were having a fashion show. Believe me, this got my attention quick! I sat down and watched it for a few minutes. I really liked what the girls were wearing, and I remember turning to my mom and saying, “These clothes aren’t modest!”
She looked surprised and then laughed. “Why not?”
“Because they’re cute!”
I don’t remember what she said after that, but I do remember saying the clothes weren’t modest because they were cute! Okay, I do admit that when I was in elementary school I did think about clothes too much. I think that most girls and women in the world do desire to look pretty and dress nicely, but there is a point when you can take it too far. It was a major revelation in my 10 year old mind to realize that there are a lot of modest stylish dressers! I also want to say that some people do prefer and like the more simple clothing. This is completely great! : ) What I’ve always leaned towards, though, is a more modern yet feminine look. ; )
That being said, if you also like that style, you do have a lot to choose from! Some clothes are hard to find that are modest, but more often than not you can make them modest. I have found a lot of really cute skirts that I love wearing! I also love my good old jean skirts. ; )
It really is amazing the way God works. From that point on, I had a different mindset of what it meant to dress modestly. It wasn’t about being plain or frumpy or super simple, not at all. There are so many things that you can wear that are feminine, modest, and beautiful. The summer I turned 14 I discovered 2 modesty blogs that I loved reading. Fresh Modesty and Living and Dressing for My Savior. I spent hours reading their posts that summer, and then one evening I thought, ‘Hey, why don’t I start a blog?’ I was so nervous about the thought! But also really intrigued. Then seeds of doubt came, and I wondered if anyone would actually read it. Trust me, it took a lot of encouragement to actually start one! Anyway, August rolled around and my mom and I sat down at the computer and she helped me start Reflections of the Heart. I had no idea what I was doing, but I knew it would be an adventure! Now I’ve been blogging for almost 2 years and I am so glad that this is something God has chosen for me to do. I love it!
I really hope I haven’t lost y’all. I guess what I’m trying to say is that modesty does not necessarily mean looking outdated. You can be modest and still find clothes that are cute, modern, and stylish. Yes, you might decide to put away the sequined shirts and huge earrings, but that doesn’t mean you are only supposed to wear button down shirts and denim skirts. ; ) That was my thought, for a while, by the way! ; ) I also want to make a note that my mom definitely never told me that was all I could wear. I came up with that all on my own!
Thanks for visiting today! I hope you have a great week! : )

 

11 thoughts on “Modesty Does Not Equal Old-fashioned

  1. Very encouraging Melani. This is a great post because I think when girls think of modest, they think it’s old-fashioned and not stylish. But really it’s not. It’s awesome. You put it very well. Thanks for the encouragement.

    Like

    1. Hey Torri! I probably should have mentioned in the post that Laura, from Living and Dressing for My Savior, is not blogging as far as I know anymore. Which is a shame, because I loved her blog! Anyway, I emailed herlast summer about it and she never got back to me. I can definitely try contacting her again! She is a really sweet and kind person. Blessings!

      Like

  2. Oh, I was just wondering. Thanks for letting me know though. I love your blog, you are very kind and I can see Jesus through you. Blessings;)

    Like

  3. Well I am really glad you started blogging because I love your blog 🙂 and I still have no clue as to how I found it 🙂
    I admitted I think of clothes too much 😦 I want to dress modestly yet I don’t want to stick out. Blogs like yours have encouraged me to stop thinking of what people think of me and more of what God thinks. So thank you 🙂

    Like

  4. That was very interesting thanks for sharing how you decided to dress modestly. I dress in clothes that I feel comfortable in. Now I know I actually dress modestly. Stephanie

    Like

Leave a Reply

