Crannig Castle Blog Tour/Book Review/Author Interview

Hey guys! My friend, Morgan, is having a blog tour for her new book, Crannig Castle! I am going to review it, interview the author herself, and share some special details and a giveaway! Let’s start with Morgan’s interview. Writers, take notes. ; )

morgan1

How do you stay motivated with finishing your books?

Half the time, I don’t. 😉 I’ve started way more books than I’ve finished. But generally what I do is make one story my main project and forbid myself to focus on any other story until I’ve finished it. I used to forbid myself to even write anything else until I’ve finished, but I’ve started ignoring that rule. Not sure it’s a good thing. I also have my family to keep me on track. My youngest sister usually reads things as I write and tells me to write more, and the rest of my family knows what main project I’m working on, and won’t let me stop.

 What inspires you to write?

Everything. Seriously, I get inspiration from so many places: dreams, school work, news stories, places I’ve visited, Pinterest, books and movies, my own imagination. And then I combine it all together to make something new.

 How do you fight writing block?

By complaining to my family and my friend Kendra how I can’t get rid of this Polystoikhedron. 😉 Writer’s block is difficult to deal with. Sometimes riding my bike helps. It used to be my magic cure. Now, it doesn’t always work, so I’ve had to try other things. Writing a fun bit of a story after the fashion of The Ankulen helped me break through a wall last New Year’s and enabled me to rewrite my outer space dystopian. Mostly, I try not to worry about it too much. I tried worrying and it only made it worse. Writer’s block (or rather, a creativity block) is something I’ve definitely been fighting this year, but there’s really no magic cure. I just try to remember how to dream.

 Who is your favorite character in Crannig Castle?

It’s a tie between Eleanor and Adriel. I love them both so much in different ways. Adriel: the rebellious slave boy determined to have freedom and family, who sprang to life in his first scene, who restored my interest in the project and really, saved the trilogy. Eleanor: the Time Captive who has been through so much emotional pain, the girl who found love only to lose it, the one who still teaches me even though her story is finished.

 What was the hardest scene or character to describe/write? (Mentally.)

Hmm. Battles are always difficult for me. I’m just not very good at them. When I sent my second to last beta draft out, they were definitely very weak. But a friend recommended a couple books that might help me fix them, I read the fights while taking notes, and completely rewrote the battles. They were much easier that time around, much more detailed, quite a bit longer, and made a lot more sense. My sister definitely liked them better. 🙂 And there was a death scene that was a bit difficult for me to write emotionally…since I was taking a real life experience to the extreme. I probably shouldn’t say too much because of spoilers, but every time I work on that scene, I remember that incident and my brain calls up horrible might-have-beens.

 Do any of the characters in Crannig Castle have your same personality/likes/interests?

Definitely. Jill Hubbard is an INFJ, like me, so she’s a character I understand. She’s not exactly like me, but her thought process, strengths, weaknesses, and insecurities are much the same. And Jonathan got every bit of my love of Narnia and Lord of the Rings and flaunts it unashamedly. He was so much fun to write. Abigail got my violin skills, Joey likes a lot of the same movies, Emily’s attitude is drawn from my early years, George shares my fear of failure…honestly, most of the characters probably have a little bit of me in them. That’s something you can’t really keep from happening.

My Review.

I was super excited when Crannig Castle came out. I thoroughly enjoyed Creighton Hill and The Crossways, and I thought Crannig Castle was a great conclusion!

I was glad that the book started right where The Crossways left off. It’s a pet peeve of mine when sequels skip a lot of time. Not so with Crannig Castle!

The book began when the Time Captives and friends try to gather all of the citizens of Calhortz to rebel against the evil queen, Toarna. Several of the Time Captives were challenged to confront their harsh pasts, and I loved how Morgan allowed a lot of inner conflicts to be healed.

I’m not sure how much I can say without completely giving away spoilers. ; ) The book is full of excitement, fantasy, and adventure. A few sad moments, yes, but sometimes pain is part of growth. The Christian values are there, and I really think that all ages would enjoy this series. I certainly did!

About the Book

 God, please look after Adriel. Keep him safe and keep him from acting foolish. And please help him to be able to find me.

Rae knew she could trust God to look after both of them. It was all she had now.

  The Time Captives have been reunited. The rightful king has been freed. Now all that remains is to defeat the strytes who still hold a tyrannical rule over the people of Calhortz. But with their lack of soldiers, it’s a task that is easier said than done. They need allies, but are they worth it when it requires facing ghosts from their pasts?

Returning to his home country only brings the loss of Adriel’s family to the forefront of his mind. His determination to find Rae has never ceased, but now that determination could potentially destroy all that he and the Time Captives have been working towards. And his new-found faith may not be able to withstand the challenge.

Will they be able to set aside their personal struggles for the sake of the freedom of all or will they allow their pasts to consume them? Will they manage to win back Crannig Castle from the rule of the strytes? The fate of Calhortz hangs in the balance.

  Crannig Castle is the final book of the Time Captives trilogy, a tale of faith, family, fantasy, and a fight for truth and freedom.

 Buy Now

morgan3

Kindle ~ Paperback ~ Signed Copy

Creighton Hill and The Crossways will be FREE on Kindle until November 11th. Here are the links!

Creighton Hill: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00XV5R5XG

The Crossways: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B015OTSCJ2

morgan2

 Morgan Elizabeth Huneke is a homeschool graduate who lives in Georgia. She has enjoyed creating characters and writing stories since early childhood. Books have always been a big part of her life, never more so than when working at the local library. Her other interests include reading, playing the piano and violin, and politics.

 You can connect with Morgan on her website, blog, Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, Google Plus, and Pinterest.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Join in the excitement of Crannig Castle and enter to win a special prize! The first prize winner will receive signed copies of the entire Time Captives trilogy. The second prize winner will receive a signed copy of Crannig Castle. The third prize winner will receive an eCopy of Crannig Castle in the eBook format of his/her choice. Giveaway open to U.S. residents only.

 

9 thoughts on “Crannig Castle Blog Tour/Book Review/Author Interview

  1. Wow! What an awesome post! I love hearing from other writers and will definitely be checking out her books as well as entering the giveaway! Thanks for hosting this and for the great questions you asked her! Lots of fun to read! Blessings,
    Victoria
    RufflesandGrace.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

