The Guy on the Covergirl Commercial

Why. Is. This. Acceptable?

Image result for New Cover Girl Commercial Male It was late one night a couple days ago, and my sister and I were up watching Full House. I never pay much attention to commercials, except to keep my radar out for inappropriate ones. I think I was looking at my phone or something, and I looked up to see a Covergirl makeup commercial. A guy appeared on the screen with heavy mascara and a high-pitched voice. He was the spokesperson.

I was disgusted. That a guy was demonstrating a new mascara for a CoverGIRL ad. As if he was a girl. Yuck. Seriously, y’all, even his tone of voice was squeaky and high-pitched and “feminine.” Really. It was completely making a mockery of females. Treating women as if they are worth so little that they can be replaced by a man. Yet I’m sure it was celebrated and completely accepted by most people.

It makes women look so cheap. It degrades from your value as a human being. We live in a pretty rotten culture if a makeup commercial is demonstrated by a man pretending to be a woman. WHERE have we gone?

I truly don’t understand it. I just don’t. A passage in Romans comes to mind as I write this, and I’d like to share it with you.

‘And just as they did not see fit to acknowledge God any longer, God gave them over to a depraved mind, to do those things which are not proper. Being filled with all unrighteousness, wickedness, greed, evil; full of envy, murder, strife, deceit, malice; they are gossips, slanderers, haters of God, insolent, arrogant, boastful, inventors of evil, disobedient to parents, without understanding, untrustworthy, unloving, unmerciful; and although they know the ordinance of God, that those who practice such things are worthy of death, they not only do the same, but also give hearty approval to those who practice them.

Romans 1:28-32

That is quite a list. What really sticks out to me are two parts. First, that God gave them over to a depraved mind. I think what that means is that God finally just ‘let them have what they want,’ so to speak. They were sinful and wanted to live in unrighteousness, so God allowed it. They weren’t going to seek God any longer, and that just leads to a life of unrighteousness, wickedness, greed, evil, and so on. This is actually something my dad and I were talking about on the way to Walmart the other day. Y’all, it is so hard for me to wrap my brain around why some people think that same-sex marriage, abortion, etc., is okay. Why? If you are seeking Jesus, then you will grow and bear fruit and slowly become more and more like Him. I think that is why the idea of immorality is so horrifying to us, because it is so horrifying to God. Also, we see plenty of places in Scripture where it is strictly forbidden. So basically, if you are not seeking God, then sin is a free-for-all. There is nothing good in us anyhow, being born as sinners, and unless God changes our hearts, there never will be.

Secondly, that they not only do the same but give hearty approval to those who practice them. How often do we hear that you are judgmental and hateful if you call sin, sin? If you don’t give hearty approval to immortality? Oh my goodness, you are just against them and you hate them and you’re judging them.

No.

We all know those accusations aren’t true. Yet even back in Biblical times the ones living in sin were super defensive if you disagreed with their lifestyle. The answer for us? We live in a sinful world. We all know that much. We aren’t going to understand the thought process that leads some people to do what they do, because we aren’t supposed to. Because God had a different plan for us.

So, going back to the beginning about the Covergirl commercial. Yes, it was wrong and disturbing. But honestly not all that surprising.

Our world is spiraling out of control-when you cannot call evil for what it is, evil and not be demonized for it.:

23 thoughts on “The Guy on the Covergirl Commercial”

  1. Amen! My siblings and were about to watch a youtube video and this ad came and were quickly like, mute, scroll down! (I might be scarred for life). This is so sad, but so true- that ad should not have surprised us. I’m so thankful for people like you who are willing to speak out about it, because the truth is so scarce these days.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG! Same here! I was shocked and appalled to say the least. How insulting to young women and girls. And this poor kid. He obviously missed out on a proper upbringing. My prayers go out to him. Great post.

    Like

  3. Yes, this is a very sad reflection of what our world is like now. :\ I saw the news stories of when the boy was first chosen to be a new spokesperson.
    Thank you for standing for the truth! May God give us the courage to speak the truth in love in these sinful times.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Whats wrong with it? He’s a make up artist and Covergirl is make up brand so why wouldn’t they choose someone that talented at makeup. Seriously his blending kills me.

    Like

    1. Hey Alyssa! Well, in our culture makeup is a very feminine product. Maybe not so in ancient Egypt, but in 21st century America it is. 😉 Also, the company is called Covergirl. He is obviously not a girl, and with him on the ad, it looks like he thinks he can be one. Which definitely isn’t right. Plus, I don’t know Charles James very well. Maybe he did do his own makeup, but I think that when companies, movies, or TV shows host commercials they have a professional team of makeup artists. Maybe I’m wrong. I’m not sure. But if he didn’t do his own makeup, then it wouldn’t matter whether he was an artist or not. I hope you have a great week!

      Liked by 3 people

      1. I always thought make up was gender neutral. Men use it all the time when performing arts, so why can’t he use it on a day to day basis? I hope you have great week too :).

        Like

      2. I dance and do performances where the guys wear a little makeup. On stage, the lights are so bright that they completely wash out your face. I don’t really think about it because oftentimes when you’re in costume your character requires makeup. Such as if you are playing a bird or pirate. ; ) Makeup is intended to basically fix your blemishes and enhance your features on a day-to-day basis. Maybe you don’t agree, but I think that it sounds a little strange for a man to want to enhance their features or look prettier.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. 😦 Thank you for this. It’s a great post, even though it’s so sad, and it makes me angry. And why would a boy want to be a girl??? Just for the makeup? I probably don’t want to know. It’s times like these when I am so thankful for Christ and His sacrifice for us. I’m so glad we’re saved, and are leading (or trying to) godly lives, unstained from the world.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It is SO SO SO wrong that guys are trying to be like girls. You mentioned how it is waking woman’s value less and less, and I completely agree. I think, though, that you should have also focussed a bit more on how it is just completely inappropriate in God’s eyes. It is so disgracesful when if comes to this. Men shouldn’t care how they look, they’re supposed to be rough and tough just like girls are supposed to be feminine and perfect (you know, make up, clothing,). Anyway, thanks SO MUCH for this post! Most people (not me, I’m pretty outright. XD) are afraid to speak up, but YOU GO MELANI!
    – Allie Taylor

    Like

  7. Yet another step in the downward spiral of morality and decency in our culture. makes you wonder what things will be like and accepted in 5 or 10 years. very sad and disturbing.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Every time I see a man pretending to be a woman or vise versa, it makes me wanna vomit! What kind of person does that to themselves?! My sister unfortunately has to work with a lot of lesbians and at the workplace all the workers are told to call these girls by their changed-to-men names so they don’t feel shunned. It’s really disgusting. And most of these girls aren’t even 15 yet!

    Like

Leave a Reply

