Modesty

Why I Write About Modesty

woman-1540543_640

I know, I just know, that a blog about clothes seems a little pointless to some people. I’ve had subtle hints, advice, and suggestions to change my blog up a little and post about something different.

Why do I write about modesty?
I was a competitive dancer and gymnast. My friends did not dress modestly, and honestly, I didn’t either. I didn’t give a second thought to what I wore. But through sports I have met plenty of preteen and teenage girls that didn’t think about it either. Very sweet girls, by the way. They just never learned that they are worth more than that. After all, that’s what stores sell. That’s what everyone else around them wears.

I write for the group of girls who ran around the hotel in a bikini. I write for the girl who showed up at the sleepover in booty shorts. I write for the girls who asked permission to wear a sports bra during running practice.

Those were a few girls that I used to know. We weren’t even teenagers yet.

It’s more than that, though. I simply want to be used by God to point girls to the truth. Dressing modestly isn’t out of style. It doesn’t look prudish and old-fashioned. And, yes, it actually is important! : )

Also, let’s say that you were raised in a household where modesty was encouraged. You walk into Walmart in the summer to buy a new dress, and trust me, you don’t end up with anything. Unless you want a maxi dress. Anything else is strapless, too short, too sheer, or… just too something. You feel discouraged.

I know how you feel. It is hard. But you’re not alone. You’re not the only one, I promise! I have had several girls and women contact me just to say that it’s nice to know that they aren’t the only ones who think about modesty. I really do think that modesty is becoming more rampant, and I want to encourage you in your standards! Even when others around you do differently; know that you are doing what is right for you. And better in the long run.

That’s why I write about modesty. Not just to post a bunch of pictures of myself. Not to act like dressing fashionably is super important. I write because the lack of modesty is part of why our culture has gotten so bad. I want to show that it’s important, possible, God-honoring, and beautiful.

Yes, I think it is worth devoting an entire blog just to that.

I really hope that y’all see my heart in this. We are each called to different tasks, and this is mine. This is my ministry.

Thank you for visiting and sharing your opinions in kind ways! Have a blessed week!

15 thoughts on “Why I Write About Modesty

  1. WOW girl! That was so good! I had nothing to add! You nailed it and this is my heart as well! Thank you for sharing and THANK YOU for pursing this ministry that God has called you to. I loved this post so much that I shared it on my own blog! Blessings, Victoria

    Like

    1. Oh my goodness, thank you so much! ❤️ Victoria, I am daily encouraged by your blog and others that share feminine dressing, so, thank you for blogging as well!
      Blessings!

      Like

  2. Hi Melani!

    I want to let you know, I love the vision behind this blog! Your point about girls just not thinking about their worth really resonated with me. It hurts my heart to see what our degenerate culture pushes onto sweet, innocent girls.

    And I also have to agree, modesty can be beautiful! Thanks for helping to show girls this!

    I really do love your heart for modesty! God bless you for all the work that you put into this blog! (Even when people like me guest-post several months later than we said we would! 🙂 BTW, I’ll send you an email later about guest-posting again! )

    Much love and blessings!
    Gabrielle

    Like

    1. Hey Gabrielle! It’s so nice to hear from you. Your kindness is a blessing, to be sure!
      That sounds great! You and your sisters are welcome to guest post anytime. I look forward to hearing from you!

      Like

  3. I agree! I’ve gotten messages from girls too saying that it’s encouraging to see someone else dress that way! And I know it’s encouraging for me 🙂 I feel like you do, that I want to encourage them that it CAN be done, and you can still be fun, fashionable, and even thrifty! Thanks for writing!

    Like

  4. I truly believe you are doing a good thing writing and sharing your honest and forthright opinion and encouraging all women to be modest. I believe clothing is to cover flesh and personality is to reveal who your character. I hope you and your family have a Merry Christmas and a Healthy New Year. Stephanie

    Like

Leave a Reply

