Life

How You Can Miss Out on Life

photographer-1451721_640.jpg

Hey y’all! I was recently asked to write a post about valuing experiences rather than things, and I thought it sounded like a great topic! I’m going to go down a small rabbit trail with this post, because I have a few other ideas that I’d like to share as well. Although, I thought that investing time and money in experiences is a great place to start!

If you’re like most people in America, you like your phone. A lot. You’ve gotta admit that’s it a pretty useful tool to have. A few taps and swipes and you have access to a great number of things. We spoiled rotten 21st century people.

The problem is that your phone can be used to ignore or shut out people in the “real world.” Completely unintentionally. How often do you walk into a room full of people to find them all on their devices?

I was recently over at my friend’s house and we were all hanging out in the kitchen. After about twenty minutes of people staring at screens, her mom came in and announced with a smile, “Okay, let’s get off our phones and talk to each other!”

I know how it is. We all do! I could spend hours on Pinterest. But, your phone is one of those “things” that is often valued more than experiences. Because, let’s be honest, you’re liable to miss out on a lot while you’re Googling ways to tie a scarf. Maybe it’s your family playing a board game or your friends making silly videos, but its memories that you won’t have because your phone took dominance.

I’m not saying that you should never waste time on your phone. ; ) I’m just saying that people should take precedence over replaceable objects. As was the original inspiration for this post, spending time and money on making memories and having experiences is so much richer than spending it on tangible things.

Do you like to write lists? I do. I find it so much easier to focus on tasks at hand when I have a goal in mind. This might be silly, but nearly every night I write a list of things I want to get done the next day. It helps me to not waste time looking at my phone, because I know that I have yet to be as productive as I’d like to be! It’s important to have goals in life too. Rather than spending your days aimlessly floating through life, you have a set goal in mind. As it is with the Christian walk!

Wow, this turned into a longer post than I expected. : ) I’d like to share a link to a place where you can plan events and parties. With that, I hope you have a blessed weekend!

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “How You Can Miss Out on Life

  1. A great post, Melani! I can so relate to the walking into a room with everyone on their phones. In so many breaks at orchestra rehearsals I feel … lonely in a way. I feel rude going up to someone and starting a conversation while they’re on their phones. Do you think that would be rude? Or good for them? 🙂 I want to be kind when doing that too, though! Thoughts are welcome ;)!

    Like

    1. Hey Olivia! To be honest, I really don’t think it would be rude of you to approach someone on their phone. It’d be good to start a conversation!
      Have a blessed weekend!

      Like

      1. Great. Hopefully next orchestra rehearsal break I can muster up the courage to start up a conversation! 🙂

        Like

  2. Hi Melani, Thanks for this important reminder. I know I need to work on this too. I mean, will it be worth more in the end to have spent an afternoon learning fashion tips or working, playing, chatting, and laughing with my siblings? And yes, it certainly is something that creeps up on us and becomes a habit before we even realise it, but it can do a lot of damage. That’s why we need reminders like this! 🙂 Blessings, Gabrielle

    Like

  3. I agree! And I definitely find that it helps to have a list of things I need to do that day, so I’m not wasting time and am being productive!

    Like

  4. It is very awkward to walk up to someone on their phone, and start talking to them. I don’t have a phone yet, but when I do, I will try not to totally block out people. 🙂 I also use lists a lot! You’re not crazy! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

